(Honesdale, July 2, 2013)… Ken Doolittle, executive vice president at Wayne Bank in Honesdale, was installed as President of Honesdale Rotary on Tuesday, June 23 during a dinner ceremony at Woodloch Springs, Hawley.  “It’s an honor to lead a group of people who are really concerned about their local community,” said Ken, “and, on a larger scale, the world community.”     
Stepping in as Vice President/President-elect for anext year is Jordan Ubertini, a financial advisor with Merrill-Lynch. Ubertini, who is also active with the Honesdale Jaycees, says he’s looking forward to working with Ken and the other officers: Kay Reynolds, secretary; Larry Caruth, treasurer; Andy Chapman, second vice president and Margaret Allen, sergeant-at-arms. Caruth and Reynolds retained their posts from last year.

The installation ceremony was officiated by two New Foundland Rotarians, Past District Governor Kerry Nix and Assistant District Governor Bob Chavey.  It was emceed by Honesdale Rotarian Jim Mould. 

“We’re a fun group with a serious mission,” Ken continued. “The Rotary is a worldwide organization of business and professional leaders who provide humanitarian service and help build goodwill and peace in the world and at home.”  The Honesdale Rotary has contributed to both local and international projects, including building a well in Cameroon, Africa, and helping Friendship House in Honesdale with regular donations.  The club holds fundraisers such as the International Dinner each fall as well as participates in Rotary-sponsored blood drives, wellness initiatives and roadside cleanups. The junior Rotary club, Interact, at Honesdale High School also has a “Little Buddy” mentoring program for at-risk elementary students.           

 “We’re really pretty busy,” said Ken, “and we welcome new members.”   Doolittle succeeds Sylvia Kingston, Human Resources Business Partner at Highlights for Children.   The club meets every Tuesday at 12noon at Cordaro’s in Honesdale. It is open to all. Photo: Margaret Allen; Larry Caruth; Kay Reynolds; Ken Doolittle (holding the President’s gavel); Andy Chapman and Jordan Ubertini.